ECN brokers list at a glance
Every broker below has a full review on AlgoVerdict; the figures are taken from each review’s fact box and refer to the account type an EA should use. XM Group is deliberately absent — it runs a market-maker/hybrid model and belongs in the best-EA-brokers comparison, not on an ECN list. For the same reason IG (market maker), Admirals (hybrid execution via group-owned execution venues), Darwinex (its own model with variable spreads) and FxPro, which describes itself as a no-dealing-desk broker rather than ECN, are not listed. Of the 18 brokers we have reviewed, 13 are therefore on this list.
| Broker | ECN account | Spread from | Commission | Free VPS | Regulation | Data centre |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IC Markets | Raw Spread | 0.0 pips (Raw, avg EUR/USD 0.1) | 3.50 USD/lot/side (MT, 7 USD round turn) · 3.00 USD/side (cTrader, 6 USD RT) | yes (IC VPS from 15 lots FX/metals per month, Global entity) | ASIC (Australia, AFSL 335692), CySEC (EU, 362/18), FSA (Seychelles, SD018) | Equinix NY4 (MT4/MT5) · Equinix LD5 (cTrader) |
| IC Trading | Raw Spread | 0.0 pips (Raw) | 3.50 USD/lot/side (MT, 7 USD RT) · 3.00 USD/side (cTrader, 6 USD RT) | yes (IC VPS from 15 lots FX/metals per month) | FSC Mauritius (Capital Point Trading Ltd, GB21026834) | Equinix NY4 |
| Pepperstone | Razor | 0.0 pips (Razor) | 3.50 USD/lot/side (Razor MT4/MT5/TradingView, 7 USD RT) · 3.00 USD/side (cTrader, 6 USD RT) | pro clients with minimum volume only (EU/DE: ≥ 1M USD notional in 60 days) | ASIC (Australia, AFSL 414530), FCA (UK, 684312), CySEC (Cyprus/EU, 388/20), DFSA (Dubai, F004356), BaFin (Germany, 151148), CMA (Kenya, licence 128), SCB (Bahamas, SIA-F217) | Equinix NY4 (VPS measurement) |
| Fusion Markets | Zero | 0.0 pips (Zero) | 2.25 USD/lot/side (Zero, 4.50 USD round-turn) | yes (more than 20 lots FX/metals within 30 days — fee is charged up front and refunded) | ASIC (Australia, AFSL 385620, FMGP Trading Group Pty Ltd), VFSC (Vanuatu, company no. 40256), FSA (Seychelles, SD096) | Equinix NY4 (VPS measurement) |
| Vantage Markets | RAW ECN · PRO ECN | 0.0 pips (RAW/PRO ECN) | 3.00 USD/lot/side (RAW ECN, 6 USD round turn) · from 1.50 USD/lot/side (PRO ECN) | yes (from 1,000 USD deposit + 0.5M USD monthly volume: up to 25 USD refund; from 1M USD: up to 50 USD) | FSC Mauritius (GB20026165, global), FSCA (51268), ASIC (AFSL 428901, AU clients only), FCA (FRN 590299, UK clients only) | London + New York (Equinix), access points in Asia |
| Tickmill | Raw | 0.0 pips (Raw) | 3.00 USD/lot/side (Raw, 6 USD round-turn) | via partner / volume-based (no permanent in-house free VPS) | FCA (UK, 717270), CySEC (Cyprus/EU, 278/15), FSA (Seychelles, SD008), FSCA (South Africa, FSP 49464), DFSA (Dubai, F007663, representative office); EU entity registered with BaFin (146511) | London (Equinix LD4) (VPS measurement) |
| BlackBull Markets | ECN Prime · Prime+ | 0.0 pips (ECN Prime/Prime+) | 3.00 USD/lot/side (6 USD RT, ECN Prime; Prime+ with rebate) | yes (from 2,000 USD deposit & 20 lots/month, otherwise 25 USD/month) | NZ FSP register (Black Bull Group Ltd, FSP403326), FSA (Seychelles, BBG Ltd, SD045) | Equinix London (per BlackBull) · also NY4 / TY3 |
| FP Trading | Raw | 0.0 pips (Raw) | 3.00 USD / 2.75 EUR / 2.25 GBP per lot per side (Raw, 6 USD round turn) | available (London data centre, sign-up via form; costs/free-use conditions not stated) | FSC Mauritius (GB26205878), FSCA South Africa (52858), FSRA St. Lucia (registered, 2026-00106), FSA St. Vincent (registered only, 126 LLC 2019 – no forex supervision), CMA UAE (20200000467, promotion) | NY4 and London LD4 (by server) (VPS measurement) |
| Axi | Pro | 0.0 pips (Pro) | 2.25 USD/lot/side (Pro, 4.50 USD round turn) | yes (15 lots in the previous month or 500 USD starting deposit, on request) | ASIC (Australia, 318232), FCA (UK, 466201), CySEC (EU, Solaris EMEA Ltd, 433/23), DFSA (Dubai, F003742), FMA (New Zealand, 518226) | Equinix NY4 |
| VT Markets | RAW ECN | 0.0 pips (RAW ECN) | 3 USD/lot/side, 6 USD round turn (RAW ECN) | refund from 1,000 USD deposit: ≥ 0.5M USD monthly volume up to 25 USD, > 1M USD up to 50 USD | FSC Mauritius (GB23202269, trading entity) · FSCA (50865, intermediary only) · CMA UAE (20200000299, introduction/promotion only) | Equinix LD5 London + NY4 New York |
| Eightcap | Raw | 0.0 pips (Raw) | 3.50 USD / 2.75 EUR / 2.25 GBP per lot per side (Raw, 7 USD round turn) | no (no proprietary free VPS documented) | CySEC (EU, 246/14 – for German clients), ASIC (Australia), FCA (UK), SCB (Bahamas, SIA-F220) | not stated |
| RoboForex | ECN · Prime | 0.0 pips (ECN/Prime, avg EUR/USD 0.1) | 20 USD per 1M USD volume per side — round turn ≈ 4 USD per lot (ECN) · 10 USD per 1M — round turn ≈ 2 USD per lot (Prime); lot = 100,000 USD notional | yes (from 300 USD equity + 3 lots/month; otherwise 5 USD/month) | FSC Belize (licence 9759600) | not stated |
| Ultima Markets | ECN | 0.0 pips (ECN) | ECN 5 USD (per side/round turn not specified) | yes (from 1,000 USD deposit + 1M USD monthly volume, refund up to 50 USD) | FSC Mauritius (GB23201593, Ultima Markets (Mauritius) Ltd), FCA (ref. 470325, Ultima Markets UK Ltd – UK clients only, whose onboarding the provider footer (as of 30 Sep 2026) announces for 2026; DACH clients are served via FSC Mauritius), FSCA (52497, intermediary only) | Equinix NY4 (per broker) (Sources disagree) |
The data-centre column comes from our broker server locations overview: without a note the location is the broker’s own statement, otherwise its source is given in brackets (VPS measurement, sources disagree, unconfirmed); “not stated” means we have no documented location. The table further down shows the same brokers — our recommendations (partner brokers) first, then the rest by weighted score; switch to "Rating" to sort purely by score. If you need a server in the same building as the broker, the forex VPS comparison lists which providers sit in NY4 and LD4; the free-VPS conditions per broker are collected in brokers with free VPS.
Why Execution Model Is a Fundamental Decision for Expert Advisors
For manual traders, the question of "ECN or market maker?" is often secondary — a well-placed stop-loss or carefully entered limit order can tolerate a few extra pips. For Expert Advisors, however, the execution model is one of the most fundamental decisions in broker selection. Here is why:
EAs do not trade on feeling; they trade on defined rules — entry at an exact price, exit at another. When a market maker internally quotes the price and potentially trades against your position, structural conflicts arise with the EA's algorithm. A genuine ECN broker routes orders directly to a pool of liquidity providers (Tier-1 banks, prime-of-prime), returns the best possible fill, and earns exclusively through transparent commission — no conflict of interest with the trader's side.
There is a second critical factor: EA tolerance. Many retail brokers embed clauses in their terms of service against scalping, latency arbitrage, or specific hedging constructs. Running an EA that triggers those clauses risks account suspension or order rejection — often precisely when the strategy is performing best. The brokers in our ECN list explicitly permit EAs and automated trading; where individual strategies are excluded (such as latency arbitrage at Eightcap), the review says so.
What Defines a True ECN Broker
STP vs. ECN: the difference. Straight-Through Processing (STP) means orders are forwarded directly to liquidity providers without a dealing desk intervening. ECN adds a further element: orders from multiple market participants are aggregated in a shared order book, producing tighter spreads at high liquidity. In practice many brokers use "ECN" to describe both — what matters is whether no dealing-desk intervention occurs and whether the liquidity path is communicated transparently.
Regulation and trustworthiness. An ECN model without reliable oversight is of limited value. We prioritise brokers with ASIC (Australia), FCA (UK), or CySEC (EU) as primary regulator, since these bodies mandate capital requirements, client-money segregation, and regular audits. Offshore-regulated brokers can offer the same technical ECN model but with weaker institutional safeguards.
Execution latency and data centre. True ECN execution is only as fast as the physical path of the order. Brokers running servers in Equinix NY4 (New York, the preferred FX liquidity hub) or LD4 (London) deliver latencies below 5 ms for EAs on co-located VPS machines. For most rule-based EAs this is non-critical; for scalpers and latency-optimised strategies, it is the difference between profitable and break-even.
Transparent commission instead of spread mark-up. True ECN means a raw spread from 0.0 pips plus an openly stated commission. The all-in cost (raw spread + commission) is the only meaningful comparison figure.
EA policy in the terms of service. Check explicitly whether the broker permits EAs, scalping, hedging, and arbitrage strategies in its terms. Every broker in our table has a documented EA-friendly policy — this is a prerequisite, not a nice-to-have.
VPS connectivity and 24/7 operation. A VPS for EAs is not a luxury for serious algo portfolios. Key questions: does the broker offer its own VPS physically close to the trading server? Under what conditions is it free (volume, deposit)? Which operating systems are supported?
The Strongest ECN Brokers Compared
IC Markets sets the standard: genuine ECN/STP routing with servers in Equinix NY4 (MT4/MT5) · Equinix LD5 (cTrader), raw spreads from 0.0 pips, 3.50 USD/lot/side (MT, 7 USD round turn), a free VPS for active accounts and no strategy restrictions. IC Markets is regulated by ASIC, CySEC (EU clients) and the Seychelles FSA; the international entity allows leverage up to 1:5000 dynamic (Global/FSA, MT). The sister brand IC Trading charges the same commission but is licensed solely by the FSC Mauritius (leverage 1:500). Full details in the IC Markets review and the IC Trading review.
Pepperstone offers the broadest Tier-1 regulation on the list (ASIC, FCA, CySEC, BaFin, DFSA) with its Razor ECN account at 3.50 USD/lot/side (Razor MT4/MT5/TradingView, 7 USD RT) or 3.00 USD/side (cTrader, 6 USD RT). For EU traders who want a German regulator on the licence, it is the natural benchmark. Pepperstone review.
Fusion Markets runs one of the lowest commissions on the list at 2.25 USD/lot/side (Zero, 4.50 USD round-turn) — a cost leader for volume-heavy EAs. Its ASIC licence, however, covers Australian clients only; everyone else is served via VFSC or FSA. Fusion Markets review.
Vantage Markets combines genuine ECN infrastructure (servers: London + New York (Equinix), access points in Asia; oneZero bridge) with a group holding ASIC and FCA licences — international clients, including those in the DACH region, are however served by its FSC Mauritius entity. The PRO ECN account (commission from 1.50 USD/lot/side (PRO ECN), minimum deposit 10,000 USD (PRO ECN)) is particularly attractive for volume-heavy EAs. Full Vantage review.
Tickmill pairs FCA and CySEC regulation with 3.00 USD/lot/side (Raw, 6 USD round-turn) and MT4/MT5 plus TradingView. Tickmill review.
BlackBull Markets offers the broadest platform coverage in our list — four platforms (MT4, MT5, cTrader, TradingView) and 26,000+ instruments. Registration on the New Zealand FSP register plus FSA Seychelles, raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a commission of 3.00 USD/lot/side (6 USD RT, ECN Prime; Prime+ with rebate), free VPS: yes (from 2,000 USD deposit & 20 lots/month, otherwise 25 USD/month); servers: Equinix London (per BlackBull) · also NY4 / TY3. According to its website the offering is not intended for EU/UK residents. For multi-instrument portfolios, an important option. Read the BlackBull review.
FP Trading — the offshore entity of the FP Markets group — delivers 3.00 USD / 2.75 EUR / 2.25 GBP per lot per side (Raw, 6 USD round turn) at ECN quality with leverage up to 1:500 and no EU cap. For traders who prioritise maximum flexibility over top-tier regulation, a cost-efficient model. FP Trading review.
Axi, VT Markets, Eightcap, RoboForex and Ultima Markets complete the list. Axi (Pro account: 2.25 USD/lot/side (Pro, 4.50 USD round turn)) and Eightcap (3.50 USD / 2.75 EUR / 2.25 GBP per lot per side (Raw, 7 USD round turn)) bring ASIC/FCA regulation plus a CySEC entity for EU clients; VT Markets and Ultima Markets are regulated for international clients by the FSC Mauritius and sit in the mid-field on costs; RoboForex is the cheapest on commission (10 USD per 1M — round turn ≈ 2 USD per lot (Prime); lot = 100,000 USD notional) but offshore-regulated and without a stated Tier-1 data centre. Each has a dedicated review linked in the table.
ECN Brokers vs. Market Makers: the Verdict for EA Traders
For serious EA portfolios, a genuine ECN/STP broker is not optional — it is a necessity. The combination of transparent costs, no conflict of interest, and a clear EA policy eliminates several structural risk factors that are latently present with market makers. Anyone currently evaluating a new broker should read our guide on EA portfolio management — it lists the decision criteria in a logical sequence. For traders also weighing platform choice, our guide on MT4 vs MT5 for algo trading covers the platform decision in depth.